San Juan Islands

1-5 of 5 images in this category.

The San Juan Islands are a part of the San Juan Archipelago in the northwest corner of the continental United States. The archipelago is split into two groups of islands based on national sovereignty. The US group, part of Washington State, are known as San Juan islands, while Gulf Islands is the name of the Canadian group -- part of the province of British Columbia. There are over 450 islands in the entire archipelago, at high tide, but fewer than one-sixth are permanently inhabited.